Sausage, Roasted Yucca, & Brussels (Primal and Paleo)

I know that there is much debate about yucca and whether or not it is considered paleo. Yucca is a root vegetable and, although comparable to a white potato, is delicious in moderation and acceptable for a primal/paleo diet. Key word: moderation. These bad boys are starchy and high in carbohydrates. Because I try and eat for my body and for performance and avoid eating for weight loss, I am not concerned about my carbohydrate intake as long as it’s in moderation. I’ll have you know that I cook for a Colombian every night so any way that I can mix in some latin food and learn to prepare these in a healthy, primal way, I like to! I am not telling you to eat yucca if you’re not or telling you to stop if you are. I am encouraging you to make food choices for your body and if you are not negatively affected by your choices, then by all means enjoy!

I am a huge brussel sprout fan. My go to brussel dish is roasted with balsamic and bacon. (Cue drool.) Because I wanted to do something with the italian sausage I had, I decided to nix the bacon. I’m not sure what to call this meal exactly, but it is great and, in my opinion, a perfect balance of protein, veggies, and starch. Not to mention a great opportunity to experiment with my spice rack.

Image

Ingredients:

  • Mild Italian Sausage (In the casing)
  • 3 medium size yucca root
  • 1 pound of brussel sprouts
  • 1/2 yellow onion
  • Olive oil
  • Juice of 1 lemon
  • Salt and Pepper
  • Garlic Powder
  • Dash of Cayenne Pepper/Chili Powder

Directions:

  1. Preheat your oven to 450 degrees and bring 1 large pot of water to a boil
  2. Using a vegetable peeler, peel your yucca root. Cut off the ends of the yucca and chop into about 3 chunks per yucca. When water is to a boil, put yucca chunks in and leave until the tops start to split. (About 10-15 minutes)
  3. Throw your sausage into a baking dish and put in the oven for about 25-30 minutes depending on your oven. Keep an eye on it. When brown flip them over and put back in for another 5 minutes. When they’re done, I like to slice them up to serve, but you could add the entire link to a plate if you’d like. Up to you! (Hint: do not add any oil to your baking dish when cooking the sausage. It makes enough of its own grease to suffice. You might end up with sausage soaked in oil if you add to it. Blegh!)
  4. Cut the ends off of your brussel sprouts and slice in half. Put into a pan with olive oil and your chopped 1/2 onion. Add salt and pepper and saute until brussels are charred and onion is soft and translucent.
  5. When yucca is ready, slice chunks and pull out starchy string in the center of the pieces. (This is important because those strings taste gross and bitter.) Cut into bite size pieces with the grain of the yucca. Add lemon juice, garlic powder, and dash of cayenne. Bake in oven for 20 minutes.
  6. Combine all ingredients into a bowl or plate and enjoy 🙂
Leave a Reply

