Spinach, Bacon, & Carmelized Onion Stuffed Chicken Breast with Rosemary Salted Brussels (Paleo, Primal, Whole30, Whole Life Challenge)

Happy Sunday Funday! I’m excited for how productive my day has been so far: cleaning, laundry, writing case conceptualizations for my final, cooking, all of which has been fueled by coffee of course!

I’ve been super stressed with finals and the end of the semester quickly approaching and thank goodness I’ll be done by Wednesday this week. There’s always a direct correlation between the condition of my nails and how stressed out I am. I currently have nubs for fingernails, which is really inconvenient in that my birthday is a week from tomorrow and I’d like to treat myself to a manicure… and, alas, manicures require fingernails.

Here’s what I made for lunch this afternoon…quick and easy and delicious!

Spinach, Bacon, & Carmelized Onion Stuffed Chicken Breast with Rosemary Salted Brussels

Ingredients:

  • 2 large chicken breasts; pounded
  • 2 cups of chopped spinach (thawed and squeezed if frozen)
  • 1/2 of one yellow onion; thinly sliced
  • 2-3 pieces of bacon (Look for nitrate and sugar free! No MSG. It’s tough to find, but it’s the best quality and is not processed or full of preservatives.)
  • Dash of paprika
  • Salt and Pepper
  • 10 brussel sprouts quartered
  • Rosemary sprigs or rosemary salt (I get mine as a salt grinder from Fresh Market)
  • Olive Oil

Directions:

  1. Preheat your oven to 375 degrees. Use a glass baking dish for this.
  2. Heat a saute pan and add your sliced onion. Drizzle with olive oil and saute until golden.
  3. Open up your chicken breasts and pound to thinness of your liking. Salt and pepper, then add your layer of bacon, then spinach, and then your carmelized onions. Fold breast over and keep closed with toothpicks. Add your dash of paprika over the chicken. I used an extra onion and spinach that wouldn’t fit in my chicken to the bottom of the baking dish. (You could also add roasted red pepper slices if you’d like.)
  4. Cut off the ends and quarter your brussels and add between your stuffed chicken. Salt and add rosemary. You don’t need to worry about adding fat to the brussels because the bacon fat will make them flavored enough.
  5. Put in the oven for 20-25 minutes. My suggestion here is to watch your bacon. That will be how you know when it is ready to be taken out. If you think your bacon still looks a little raw, put it back in for another 5 minutes. You’re not looking for crispy bacon in a stuffed dish like this, you’re looking for flavor and good yummy fats!
  6. Serve hot!

 

Image

Before baking.

Image

Right before it goes in my belly!

I’ve certainly been on a brussel sprout kick lately, so if that’s not your thing, I apologize! Lots of different veggies can be subbed for this dish, so be optimistic. I’ll be sure to add some more veggies to the menu!

 

 

3 thoughts on “Spinach, Bacon, & Carmelized Onion Stuffed Chicken Breast with Rosemary Salted Brussels (Paleo, Primal, Whole30, Whole Life Challenge)

Leave a Reply

