25 Things I’ve Learned at 25

Today is the big day. The big 2-5. It’s really difficult for me to wrap my head around that because I remember college like it was yesterday and turning 21 was a huge deal. So much has changed in my life in 25 years. This has truly been one of the best birthdays I’ve ever had. I feel so content with where I’m at in my life and the people that I consider friends. I was reminiscing on previous birthdays and how every year, different people have been present in my life. My fluctuation of friends used to bother me, but now I look at it as wonderful for me to be so open-minded to different people: some that stay and some that don’t. It also makes me appreciate the consistent friends I’ve had throughout the years and happy that my boyfriend has been present for the last few and will be there for the rest of them. 🙂 

Image

 

Well, here they are…my 25 Things I’ve Learned at 25 list. 

  1. If you feel the need to make a decision in a hurry, you’re probably going to make the wrong decision. The wisest choice is patient.
  2. Strangers are friends you haven’t met yet. Be open-minded to all people. They have something to teach you. 
  3. Never let an opportunity for ignition of passion pass you by. Be a beginner at something and learn to love that!
  4. Every long talk I ever had with my dad about importance in relationships came true for me. Things I didn’t think would matter to me, really do. 
  5. Don’t let experiences make you jaded. I want to teach my children to love with their entire heart and allowing yourself to be vulnerable does not make you weak. It makes you human and capable of emotions. 
  6. Every single heartbreak is more than worth true love. I think I would go back and break my heart all over again if I knew I was going to end up with this unbelievable love I have now.
  7. Find the you that you love and be it. That’s where you’ll find true happiness and self-worth. Wish I could’ve told that to my 16 year old self.
  8. There is nothing on earth more valuable than be hard-working. It has gotten me everywhere I want to be.
  9. Be grateful. Always. Even for silly little things. Say thank you. Be appreciative. Count your blessings out loud every night.
  10. When you’re a grown up, no one really cares about your new expensive clothes. They’ll compliment you on a pretty dress but they’re not impressed with your new wardrobe every week. In fact, if you’re caring what they think, they probably think you’re wasteful. 
  11. I had some self-judgment when people have told me how important traveling all over is. What I found is that saving your money to travel with people you love is more rewarding than blowing off all your responsibilities to take the next flight out. My most rewarding trips were weekend trips to the Keys and a week long cruise with the love of my life and they didn’t cost me thousands of dollars.
  12. I’ve learned to shut. my. mouth. I used to divulge all this information about myself right away with new friends. It’s okay to have things you just keep to yourself or divulge slowly. Let people be curious about you.
  13. Having a dog who looks at me like Bentley does reminds me why I want to be a mom one day and how lucky I am to have the love of a sweet puppy like him.
  14. There are little things more important than your health. I want to punch myself for ever eating fast food.
  15. I’ve learned that I only want to surround myself with people who laugh and don’t take themselves too seriously. 
  16. I never regretted taking too many pictures.
  17. There is an unreal satisfaction of looking at $0.00 for a credit card balance you just paid off.
  18. Try ALL foods. All of them. Make it your goal to try a new food at least once a month.
  19. (I might get shit for this one.) Be open-minded about religion. Not everyone prays or worships the same way. I have learned that I can relate to a religious-blend. Keep your religious traditions you were raised on, but understand why those things work for you. Religion is not cut and dry or black and white. 
  20. I’ve learned to appreciate a good glass of red wine. On good days, bad days, most days 🙂
  21. Stop bitching. If you need to vent, preface it. And don’t vent to the whole world. Vent to specific people who support you in the ways you need to be supported. 
  22. It’s OKAY to be sensitive. Own it. I used to beat myself up so much that I cry when I’m touched or because I’m sappy or I take things a little too personally sometimes. It’s okay. It’s part of you. 
  23. Don’t set your friends up. I’m not sure how many times I had to learn that the hard way. Aye yi yi.
  24. I’ve learned to set boundaries to take care of myself. I thought that was being selfish, but it’s really made relationships stronger and give me a sense of pride.
  25. I’ve practiced sitting down and writing out my goals. Future and immediate goals. So much stuff is going on in my brain and sometimes I think I have a plan until I sit down and start writing. It almost always looks different on paper than it did in my head.

Image

Andres and I on my birthday celebration Downtown West Palm Beach @ The Wine Dive.

What do you think of my lessons learned? Can you relate?

 

5 thoughts on “25 Things I’ve Learned at 25

  1. Ken Kundis says:

    I love this Lauren. I’d as #26: Reflecting on your life is important. Don’t live in your past but respect it. Clearly you’ve learned this. Well done!

  2. Sandi finch says:

    Love how you are at such an amazing and inspiring time in your life. Your dad and I always knew that the person you are today was just waiting to appear. You had your obstacles and disappointments, but those things made you who you are. I love that you haven taken those things and learned to look at them as blessings. This my sweet girl, will serve you well the rest of your life!!

Leave a Reply

