Beat Binge Guilt! (& how to get yourself back on track)

I needed to post about this because I feel like “falling off the wagon” isn’t talked about enough. Truthfully, I’ve been suffering from my own binge guilt, so what better of a time to discuss! 

It’s important to remember that eating primal/paleo is not the most convenient option nor does it fit perfectly into our social lives. I’m the first to admit that I enjoy a good craft beer tremendously. I also really love pizza and dessert and the paleo dessert options are never quite as satisfying as the real, full sugar thing…and, can I say…I’m absolutely okay with that. That right there is why eating paleo/primal is classified as a lifestyle

With all of that being said, damn I feel guilty when I get off track. It is super frustrating to eat in a specific way and see such awesome results and then 2 birthday celebrations and a Sunday Funday and you’ve lost all the abs you worked so hard for. It’s easy to beat yourself up over lost progress AND we have to try harder to give ourselves a break now and again. I’ll be really frank…be careful of the ways in which you view food and the amount of negative energy you put on yourself when you don’t stay within food perimeters. That is how eating disorders develop and the goal should be for you to be the healthiest version of yourself on the inside out…not for vanity reasons. There is no such thing as perfect eating. Perfect doesn’t exist.

Suggesting that you’ve had a particularly difficult few weeks in your eating, here are a few things that I like to do to get me feeling better and help me stay motivated to get back on the wagon:

Image 

My tumbler today full of mint and ice water!

  • Infuse your water and increase your water intake. Doing WLC, one of my favorite challenges was drinking half of my body weight in ounces of water. My complexion cleared, I was never thirsty, and I was hydrated and energized. After an off-track food binge, I’ve added mint to my water and noticed a huge difference in my digestive system. Herbs clean out bad bacteria of our stomachs and reduce bloating. Other herbs to try are rosemary and sage and even chia seeds. Here is a great site with some different citrus and herb combos. Water can cause bloating, but it also helps with digestion and re-vamps our kidneys. I especially increase my water intake when I’ve consumed an above average number of craft beers or glasses of wine. Hydration does wonders for our bodies and will even eliminate those pesky headaches we get after some binging. 

 

Image

 

This Asian Pear and Ginger kombucha was to die for. So flavorful!

 

  • PROBIOTICS!. Probiotics keep the good, healthy bacteria in our bellies. Taking one daily is said to reduce and prevent tumor production in our stomachs and flush our the bad bacteria (yeast) that lives in our stomachs. There are so many ways you can get probiotics into your system. You can eat them through kimchi or sauerkraut. You can drink them through kombucha or kefir. You can take a probiotic supplement. According to my research, there is no true way to intake too many probiotics. They should be avoided, however, if you have specific allergies. I take a probiotic supplement daily and I am, of course, a big fan of sauerkraut and kombucha. 
  • Start eating right. Right now. Don’t wait until Monday to start back on your eating regimen. Do it right now. There’s no better time than right now to start feeling better. Get yourself to the store and grab some fruits and veggies and proteins. Be prepared.  Remember: healthy is not convenient. You have to make it convenient for your lifestyle. 

 

I thought you might get a kick out of my tank from Lift for Meat that finally came in. It was quite appropriate for the past week. 😉 

Image

 

100% Paleo 80% of the time!

 

Don’t give up on yourself. None of us are perfect in our eating (OR in life) so we should stop pretending it’s even possible. Make good decisions for your body and plan ahead. If you slip up, guess what? Life happens! Get back up on that wagon and surprise yourself. 

3 thoughts on “Beat Binge Guilt! (& how to get yourself back on track)

Leave a Reply

