Paleo Bacon Wrapped Dates (Primal/WLC/Whole30)

These babies are so delicious. I needed a sweet snack and I was over eating fruit salads so I decided these would be an awesome warm treat. I used the pitted Sun Dates from Publix instead of Medjool dates; strictly for cost effect reasons.

photo-18

Ingredients:

  • 24 pitted dates
  • 12 pieces of nitrate-free, sugar-free bacon
  • cookie sheet

Directions:

  1. Preheat your oven to 450 degrees.
  2. Cut your uncooked bacon into halves and wrap each of your dates with your half strip of bacon.
  3. You could choose to put toothpicks in at this time, or you could situate them with the flap side down on your cookie sheet.
  4. Put dates into the oven for about 15-20 minutes, flipping them to the side about every 6-8 minutes.
  5. If you’re choosing to be strict paleo, enjoy! If you’d like to add some goat cheese to these, that would be amazing too!

 

//

Andres and I decided to have some of our wonderful friends over for Sunday Brunch last weekend. We made coffee with the bean grinder, had delicious apple and orange juice, and we had the most incredible spread of primal foods ever! It was so much fun. I made a Breakfast Sausage Meatloaf by Paleomg and spicy sweet potato hash browns to share.

photo 2-3

Sara brought these incredible Chai Banana/Blueberry and Pumpkin casseroles. They were so delicious and warm and tasted like cake…I felt like I was cheating! (Those are the two closest to the bottom of the page) The meatloaf turned out pretty good and I think would’ve been even better with a fried egg on top :). Blackberries, raspberries, grapes, tomato slices, apples, bacon, hard boiled eggs, slices of full fat mozzarella (mmm, not for strict paleo-eaters!) and of course the spicy sweet potato hash.

photo 1-2

 

We had Simply Apple and Orange with tangerine juices. Definitely not the best choice in terms of sugar content, but Andres hates apple juice and actually likes the Simply unfiltered kind. YUM! It tastes like apple cider. So good.

After brunch we went to the beach with some gym friends and played Hoover Ball, which was a great time but holy hell I got so sunburnt. First sunburn of the summer :(.

 

We’ve been feeling really blessed with our friend group lately. If we hadn’t started working out at HEW, I really don’t think we would be as connected to our apartment and our life as we are now. We have met such great people who are definitely our speed and care about things that we do and it’s really refreshing to be around.  I feel like I’ve met people I can be myself around and it’s especially nice for Andres and I to meet couples that we enjoy! I’ve never enjoyed double dating so much 🙂

Next weekend is the competition I should be competing in and instead I’ll be in my Saturday class. All day. I’m trying really hard to have a positive attitude and remind myself that there will be other competitions but it is extremely difficult when that’s where I really want to be…AND I know that school is really important so that’s where I’ll need to be. Good luck to my awesome team who will still be competing 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

